ER-390M PC Download Problems

Support, Help & Advice Forum

ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby coxy on Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:45 am

I have recently purchased a ER-390M. I have successfully connected the till to my pc and I have successfully upload and download PLU descriptions. However, what the system is not doing is transferring prices I have programmed on the PC.

If I put a price of around £100000.00 on my pc, after download it appears at £0.03 on the till.

Has anyone any idea what could be causing this???

Thanks
coxy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:41 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:12 am

what happens if you preset a sensible price - eg, £10.00
there is an upper limit on the number of characters across you can go.

If you sell stuff for that price, i suggest a better cash register!
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby coxy on Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:38 am

Thanks for your reply.

I only gave such a large numbered example to show what was registering on the till. Anything below this price, i.e a sensible price of £5.99 downloads to the till at £0.00???
coxy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:41 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:51 am

can you then manually program the correct price at the register?

There were issues with the utilities for the 420 and 5200 - the correct version had to be matched to the version of the eprom in the till.

ie if you used an ols version utility with a new till, it scrambles the data in the plu file.

I'm not sure if this is true in your case but could you please post the version number of the utility and the version of the eprom in the till.
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby coxy on Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:26 am

Yes you can program the prices in manually at the till.

I have tried versions 1.0 & 2.0h of the pc utility sodftware and both have the same problem. I am not sure if any later versions are available or where to get them if they are???

I do not know the version of the eprom in the till, but will see if I can find out this evening for you.
coxy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:41 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:34 am

as far as i'm aware, there's only two versions of the utility so you've covered that !Chin

have not done much with that model, will ask around for you but........

Anyone else got any ideas?
:oops: :cry:

be an idea to post your eprom version anyway may shine a light for someone out there
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 1901
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby coxy on Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:09 am

Ok I've checked out the Eprom version...

Version: YCR 1.7
Checksum: 1AC3

Hope this helps someone shed some light?
coxy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:41 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby Rick on Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:31 am

Hi Coxy, did you ever get this sorted out? How do you print the EPROM version of the till? - All best - Rick
Rick
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:25 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby coxy on Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:38 am

Hi Rick, no never got this problem rectified. In the end had to programme the till manually rather than pc. It tells you in the hand book how to get version from till, but I don't have this to hand at the mo.
coxy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:41 am

Re: ER-390M PC Download Problems

Postby Rick on Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:14 pm

I'm still working on this.... I think my serial modem cable is not wired correctly or I've not cleared something in the till. What would i need to clear off before downloading the PLU list from the till?

-I've tried a 9 pin female/female null modem cable with a gender changer. Could this be what I'm doing wrong? (have also tried a Null modem to 25 pin with an adaptor. I've tried making up a custom cable according to the manual but still no joy)

-The ER-390M display shows that the PC is connected. The printer outputs that the PC is connected, but I cant seem to the the ECR program to the PC. I've tried utility version 1.0 and version 2.0

-I've tried a Belkin USB to serial connection, and also a normal PC serial connection with the same result.

-I have set up the #1 serial port on the till correctly. Port 2 is disabled.

-I've tried under XP Pro, and Windows 7 with the same result.
Last edited by Rick on Mon Mar 21, 2011 5:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Rick
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:25 am

Next

Return to Sam4s Cash Register Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

x