EPoS Wizard - Cash Register Support Forum

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:40 pm

 

 


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 1
My Sam4 ER-5200 cash register suddenly got stuck in the middle of sat night trading. We are a small bar. The reg key was on REG and was unable to turn to void but the display now says VOID. Whenever any button is pressed, regardless if it is in reg mode or any other mode, the till makes a loud noise and displays the error code - E01 PLU NO DATA ERR.
WHAT DOES THIS ERROR MESSAGE MEAN EXACTLY AND HOW CAN I FIX IT?????

The manual lists the error in the code table but doesn't give any further explanation or most importantly what can be done to fix the problem.

Please can you help???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 1822
e01 is a simple error - its operator error - depending on what you were doing at the time, the solution can vary wildly
drop me a pm and i will send you my mobile number.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:18 pm
Posts: 3
When I power up the machine the display reads VOID MODE. When I press any key, there is a high pitch sound and the front facing display reads E01 and the adjustable display reads WARNING!! PLU NO DATA ERR. Although when I hit the 0 (zero) key the high pitch sound stops and the adjustable display shows 2 lines of unreadable characters and the front facing display reads 0.00. All this happens in any key mode. The key that I received with the machine has a Z on it and it only goes as far as Z in the key slot. The machine is a Sam4s ER-5215M. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 1822
ok, the clue is the "void mode" on the display - is that in every position on the control lock?
if so, the machine has completely lost it's memory! :(

I have, [in the past week] attended a 5200 with these symptoms that would not ram clear - this is the worst case scenario, the eprom that holds the till equivalent of BIOS had become corrupt requiring extensive repair.
{the eprom chip has to be removed from the logic board, be reprogrammed by the manufacturer then refitted.
Not a quick fix by any means :cry:

Lets hope its just a ram clear in S mode

Good luck
Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:18 pm
Posts: 3
Yes it shows "VOID MODE" in every position on the control lock. :(
What do I need to do to try a ram clear in S mode?
Thanks for your help,
Michael :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 1822
Hi Mike
Turn the key to S mode [one past pgm clockwise[its not marked on ther lock]]
hold down the cheque key and power up.
Next, in order, press the top left button followed by bottom left button, followed by top right button and finally bottom right button [cash]
Allocate the memory as required [ATTENTION TO NUMBER OF PRICE LEVELS AT THIS POINT] MEMORY ALLOCATION CANNOT BE CHANGED AFTER YOU HAVE ACCEPTED THE CHOICES AT RAM CLEAR! !Chin
All that then remains is to reprogram your till from scratch.

If you have the luxury of time, I would suggest not spending too long programming until the machine has been plugged in for 24hrs then test the batteries by unplugging it for as long as possible [up to a week should test the batteries] if it says void mode after this test, the on board battery will need to be replaced [i have never yet had an incident on a 5200 that required battery replacement, but there's a first time foir everything]

Good luck
Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:18 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Andy,
I was able to get a key to access the S mode. Followed your directions and was able to get the register to work! :D I'm going to test the battery next.
Thank You,
Michael :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 1822
Always glad to help - at least it wasn't the eprom :)
are you an electronic engineer/hobbyist? if not, suggest taking machine to a dealer as the battery is soldered to the logic board. :cry:

A simple user test would be to start a sale - for example enter a penny into dept1 press subtotal then power the machine off for a few hours, preferably overnight, if the sale is still live when you turn the till back on, the battery is reasonable and tha cause was either a "dirty" mains supply or external source that may never come to light. !Chin

If its gone and you have loads of errors or void mode again the battery is the main suspect and should be checked more thoroughly.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Cash Register Links
EPoS Links
PC Links
Useful Links

 

 

 

 

SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO
[ Time : 0.594s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]