J2 615 - Power supply problems

Support, Help & Advice Forum

J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby johnsmith77 on Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:46 am

Hi,

Came into work this morning and the j2 615 we use for staff to start/end shifts won't switch on. Not sure if it's an issue with the unit itself or the power supply (4-pin API5AD17). I've tried the power cable in different outlets and the result is the same - the green power led on the unit lights up once only, then disappears.
Have been googling around for a replacement power supply to rule it out, but having no luck finding one that meets the specs.

And (of course) it's out of warranty.....

Has anyone else had this problem with this unit?
johnsmith77
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:31 am

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby porty on Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:35 am

This might work.
Take the mains power cable out of the PSU (that's the three round pin end, not the end you plug into the wall) for ten seconds or so then plug it in again and see if it starts. These J2 PSUs can be a bit funny at times.
porty
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby andy-the-diver on Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:26 pm

Don't very ofter disagree with Porty but on this issue I have to. I look after in excess of 100 J2 units and in the past 4 years have only had to change 3 power supplies!

in fact ive had more mother board issues than power supplies

The j2 is a rock solid piece of kit.
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2249
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby porty on Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:37 pm

Thanks Andy! :D
Found an issue with 630s that they seem to do strange things sometimes unless you do that with the psu. I didn't believe it myself until I was told that and tried it myself.
You're right though, the power supplies are normally fine......apart from two i've had to replace in the last month! That was unusual though.
It is normally motherboards, or in the case of a batch of 580s lcd screens.
porty
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby johnsmith77 on Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:32 am

Hi Porty,

Thanks for the suggestion, but no joy there unfortunately. The power cable is a 4-pin and I can't even seem to find anywhere to source one locally to test whether it's M/B or Power Supply (meanwhile I've got plenty of spare 3-pins lying around - always the way).
Checking the manual & can't see an error msg that lines up with the light coming on once only.

Thanks for the suggestions though.
johnsmith77
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:31 am

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby porty on Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:45 am

Spoke to J2, or Aures are they are now, about what you described. They say it's more than likely a main board fault.
porty
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby Gemmie on Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:52 pm

i have to agree with Andy we sell lots of J2 with icr and have almost no problems at all with them, i quite liked the 615 though it's a bit old now. certainly a million times better than the megapos stuff we got for a while! almost all of them are dead now :( x
User avatar
Gemmie
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 8:04 pm

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby Skiver on Fri May 02, 2014 11:16 am

We used to sell a lot of J2's but after lots of issues with LCDs failing we've moved away from them.
We now mainly sell Poindus Varipos 715's - an excellent bit of kit in my opinion.
Skiver
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:30 pm

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby Gemmie on Fri May 02, 2014 8:59 pm

we've had quite a lot of them they're not cheap but we've had no problems with them and they look quite nice too :) x
User avatar
Gemmie
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 8:04 pm

Re: J2 615 - Power supply problems

Postby porty on Thu May 08, 2014 9:49 am

Just to add something here about J2 630s. Had a problem with one again yesterday and it's only two months old.
The green light on the front was flashing but it wouldn't come on. Even unplugging the 19v end of the power supply does nothing. It has to be disconnected from the mains, say about 30 seconds, and then plugged in again. It then starts properly.
porty
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Next

Return to Other Makes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

x