Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Support, Help & Advice Forum

Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby NillsW on Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:56 am

I've got a Towa 6600 with communication cable hooked up to a serial to USB converter and am having problems communicating. I keep getting a Communications Error: 5. Unable to communicatie message when I try to read something from the till. Before I make the call that I have a bad cable or converter I'd like some advice on the settings I use.

Com port settings:
Port 1
baud 9600
parity even
databits 8
stopbits 1

I'm using a laptop with windows 7 and have David's POWERPROM with the default administrator account and have checked that I set up a profile where the COM port settings match the ones above. Since I have never used an ET 6600 before I also have no idea what mode I should set it in. E.g X1, R, Z1, etc. Is this relevant?
NillsW
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 am

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby socheallaigh on Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:57 pm

David settings for et6600

baud = 9600
7bit
even parity
1 stop bit

till type = 6600
SOCHEALLAIGH
donations.php
socheallaigh
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:03 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby NillsW on Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:56 pm

socheallaigh wrote:David settings for et6600

baud = 9600
7bit
even parity
1 stop bit

till type = 6600


Thanks for the quick response. Unfortunately setting the COM to those settings hasn't helped. I've set them both in windows and in the command prompt with a mode com1 9600,e,7,1 command. After that I opened Powerprom with a new profile and set it to the above values. I don't know which exact version of the 6600 I have, so I tried all the profiles on it (V9, V10, flat, raised) with no response so far.

2 questions:
- Does it matter which position the user key is set to (P1, P2, L, R, etc)?
- Does it matter which Memory Fitted option I choose in Powerprom settings (as I dont know if the machine has had extra memory fitted)
NillsW
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 am

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby socheallaigh on Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:36 pm

Main flag settings for communication port 1 on the register are
flag 85 =53
flag 86 =100111

This will match port settings for David 9600, 7bit, even parity, 1stop bit

Key position is immaterial
Leave memory setting as standard, it could be changed later.

Error 5 doesn't signify much., except that the com port on david/pc is ok.
It is either a setting on till or cable issue
SOCHEALLAIGH
donations.php
socheallaigh
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:03 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby NillsW on Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:19 am

socheallaigh wrote:Main flag settings for communication port 1 on the register are
flag 85 =53
flag 86 =100111

This will match port settings for David 9600, 7bit, even parity, 1stop bit

Key position is immaterial
Leave memory setting as standard, it could be changed later.

Error 5 doesn't signify much., except that the com port on david/pc is ok.
It is either a setting on till or cable issue


Awesome, these flag settings are new info to me. How do I go about checking/inserting these settings on the till?
NillsW
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 am

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby socheallaigh on Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:28 am

Key to p2 (keyboard defaults to program mode in this position) Press the following keyboard positions

strt
sel
85
dsgn
53
input
100111
input

Key back to R
SOCHEALLAIGH
donations.php
socheallaigh
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:03 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby NillsW on Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:46 am

Just got back from vacation and gave it a go, worked like a charm! Thanks a lot for all the help :)

I can access the PLU's in the til now, but is there a way to get the complete file exported to something like excel?
NillsW
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 am

Re: Newbie looking for help communicating with ET6600

Postby NillsW on Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:53 am

Never mind, found the export wiz in the reports section. Thanks!
NillsW
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 am


Return to Geller / Towa Cash Register Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

x