sps 2000 - no default screen

Support, Help & Advice Forum

sps 2000 - no default screen

Postby tfoller on Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:19 am

If I turn on the power switch, the screen stays black, no default main screen with S/P modes etc. shows up. If I turn on the switch while holding the front power button, then the system password menu comes up and I can access the system menu. How do I bring back the default screen? The register has all the food menus tables etc. set and has been functioning for years, not it's all gone.

Thank you!
tfoller
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:13 am

Re: sps 2000 - no default screen

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:48 am

sounds to me like the internal battery has failed. if this is the case - your only option is to ram clear it, set up memory allocation and recver your program from a back up - now you DID make a back up right?
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2356
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: sps 2000 - no default screen

Postby tfoller on Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:48 am

Thank you for the reply, can you please elaborate on what this internal battery is responsible for? If it failed, shouldn't I replace or fix it? I do have a backup, it's not a problem.
tfoller
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:13 am

Re: sps 2000 - no default screen

Postby ColP on Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:00 pm

Hi All, just seen this thread and have exactly the same problem on one of two non-working SPS-2000's.

My two tills have ML2032 rechargeable batteries and so you should not use CR2032 cells - as stated on the till PCB. The CR2032 is not rechargeable and may explode if charged! Would recommend checking for the correct cell type before replacing.
Checked my batteries one is OK (2.8v should be 3V ideally so not ideal) and one is totally dead (0v). Ordered a replacement anyway to check.

Have done a RAM clear (Clear ALL) on the good battery till, but on rebooting or power recycling get SAM4S logo and flashing cursor and it just sits there. Tried this a number of times this afternoon. Any suggestions?
ColP
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: sps 2000 - no default screen

Postby andy-the-diver on Sun Feb 16, 2020 8:07 pm

next time i get one of these in, ill make a point of testing if theres a charge current available @ the cell holder contacts - not heard of this before but will def follow it up - meantime disregard my previous suggestion !dunce
meantme, how are you performing the ram clr? from the 1287 menu?
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2356
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm


Return to Sam4s Cash Register Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

x