SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Support, Help & Advice Forum

SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby DoZZa on Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:21 pm

Hi all,

Does the SPS-2200 support talking to printers via a network?

I see there are options in S-Mode to set Ethernet port and then define as a Printer, I have been trying to use these settings to get the till to talk to the printer but I am having absolutely no luck getting a known working network printer to be used as a kitchen printer.

I have set all the relevant System Printer Settings, I have set the KP Routing and PLU options correctly.

When I cash a sale, I get an error that the Kitchen Printer is OFFLINE.

I have a complicated network setup here, VLAN's, multiple switches etc, so decided to plug everything into a dump switch, still nothing! I have also confirmed that the network cables are indeed OK.

Lost with this one, I really am!
DoZZa
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:06 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:56 pm

yes they do
but if you have done the kp routing correctly then ..... perhaps something is faulty - call your dealer.
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby DoZZa on Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:03 pm

I have just put a network sniffer on the network and only once out of many times did the till actually send any data to the IP address of the printer!

My dealer is being evasive, and quite frankly I doubt he would be able to figure this out!

I'll post some screen shots of my settings later, perhaps I am missing something obvious!
DoZZa
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:06 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby DoZZa on Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:49 pm

OK, here are some screenshots.

Port Settings:
Image

System Printer Settings:
Image

Kitchen Printer Routing Settings:
Image

PLU Status Group Settings:
Image

Please tell me I am doing something wrong!

Thanks
DoZZa
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:06 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby andy-the-diver on Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:58 pm

im assuming that you are showing this from till~1 ?
not sure id have printer #2 called kitchen - to be kitchen printer numbers 1 and 2??
you could try slowing the virtual baude rate down a bit - give a slow network a chance - try 9600

though to be fair if your tmt88 is an ip printer i guess it shouldnt make any difference - try setting a back up to the receipt printer too - that way staff know if food has failed to go to the kitchen
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby DoZZa on Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:53 pm

andy-the-diver wrote:im assuming that you are showing this from till~1 ?
not sure id have printer #2 called kitchen - to be kitchen printer numbers 1 and 2??
you could try slowing the virtual baude rate down a bit - give a slow network a chance - try 9600

though to be fair if your tmt88 is an ip printer i guess it shouldnt make any difference - try setting a back up to the receipt printer too - that way staff know if food has failed to go to the kitchen


Yes, this is from reg 1.

Would the name cause problems? I'll change it to something random.

andy-the-diver wrote:to be kitchen printer numbers 1 and 2??

^^^^^^
Are you referring to the image of the Kitchen Printer Routing? If so, that was just a test of the PLU Status Groups.

I have tried different baud rates, all to no avail!

Printer 1 is the receipt printer (Giant 100) connected directly to the till via RS232, this works perfectly fine.

So ideally I need Printer 2 to be the Kitchen Printer.

I'll give random names to each printer and see if that makes a difference.

I find it odd that I get an error message about the kitchen printer being offline, I'd imagine that if I had misconfigured something, it just wouldn't even try to send the data to the printer!

Just for more detail. I have tried a couple of different network configurations. I know from previous issues I've had with these tills is that they like to have an IP address in the 192.168.0.0/24 range.

So I have tried setting an IP of 192.168.0.11 on the master (REG#1) till. Set gateway to 192.168.0.200 and set a static IP of 192.168.0.15 on the Kitchen Printer as shown in the image above. So on the till and also the actual printer itself.

I have also tried the 10.0.0.0/24 range, same thing, no communications!

I have tried with the S-Mode Network option both on and off. Makes no difference.

Using a network sniffer, Wireshark in this case, I can see the SPS-2200 trying to communicate with other tills when doing an IRC Test. So I know that there is communication occurring. Interestingly the IP address does not change with the S-Mode Network option on or off. It remains 192.168.0.11 regardless. I was kind of hoping to find more interesting things going on with the S-Mode Network option turned off!

What I will try is setting the S-Mode Network IP to something different, like 192.168.0.222 and see if it reverts back to 192.168.0.11 after S-Mode Network option has been disabled. This is more for curiosity than actually getting to the bottom of this particular problem!

Part of me wants to see if I can access the bootloader and install Windows IoT on this bloody thing and run a proper bit of POS software like ICR!!!
DoZZa
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:06 pm

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby S1mon on Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:48 am

DoZZa wrote:Part of me wants to see if I can access the bootloader and install Windows IoT on this bloody thing and run a proper bit of POS software like ICR!!!


Wouldn't that be lovely. Unfortunately it's simply not possible

They are a ROM-based unit running a stripped down version of Linux, and don't have any form of drive to load a proper operating system on to.
S1mon
 
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:17 am

Re: SPS-2200 Support Network Printing?

Postby andy-the-diver on Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:16 am

sps2200 networking is propper dodgy at best! - advice from manufacturer is use cat 6 and a gigabit switch. At first i thought this was a croc
but did it anyway - low and behold all issues gone!
i think its overkill but it works
andy-the-diver
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:23 pm


Return to Sam4s Cash Register Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

x